wheat isn’t the only grain to look out for

health + foodie

  • barley
  • rye 
  • spelt
  • triticale
  • kamut
  • and perhaps, oats

also contain gluten and should be avoided.

“many gluten-free foods are made by replacing wheat flour with cornstarch, rice starch, potato starch, or tapioca starch… This is especially hazardous for anybody looking to drop twenty, thirty or more pounds, since gluten-free foods, though they do not trigger the immune or neurological response of wheat gluten still trigger the glucose-insulin response that causes you to gain weight” (Davis 72)

 

for a more inclusive and informative list, click here

View original post